"Dear all, creating good things takes time. Behind the EISENHORN brand is an exciting story. I hope you enjoy reading it".

Mike Schrag
Inventor & Founder

Winter 1987

As a twelve year old downhill skier, Mike realised that he has to built up a bit more strength and muscle. He knew that this would only be reachable with regular weight-training. Without further ado, he built his first own exercise machine from wood panels and steel pipes, and mounted it on a wall in his bedroom. From then on, he was able to workout whenever he wanted.

1987 - 2010

He has always been a perfectionist and was not satisfied with the function of his first device. Therefore he has been constantly building new equipment, sketching ideas and discarding them again. The motivation was always the own use of it. In the same period he completed his education as a mechanical engineer and in 2006 he founded his own product design company.

WINTER 2010

The second son of Mike grows up. Like his father, he is an enthusiastic skier and successfully contests his first races. The story seems to be repeated almost 30 years later. It’s the ultimate motivation for Mike to take up again his idea. This time he wants to approach it in a professional way. Now he wants to develop a marketable product out of it.

Mike wrote the following almost incredible combination of USP’s in his specifications.

Nobody could imagine at this time, how this should work:

Full body workout

Device that offers all the exercises known from the gym.

Easy handling

Simple and fast handling, which allows a quick change from one exercise to another.

Minimum space requirement

The device should not take up more space than a medium-sized houseplant.

Exclusive design

A design that makes it possible to mount the device as a decorative element in the living room.

2010 - 2014

In four years Mike build another seven prototypes. He optimized his concept in thousands of hours. Thanks to intuition and striving for the best combination of function and design something unique was born. In March 2013, he filed for a first international patent. In December 2014, a second patent followed. In the same period of time he founded the company EISENHORN and sold his product design company.

2015 - 2017

The company sells the first devices in 2015. With a still very modest company structure, a three-digit number of units is already achieved in the first year. In the following year, sales were doubled. In the first quarter of 2017, 5 times more devices are sold than in the same quarter of the previous year.

2018

“I am still a perfectionist and therefore probably the most demanding customer myself. The EISENHORN E3 is that device, I wished to have had already in 1987.  It makes me proud, that today a lot of experts label this device as revolutionary. Many professional athletes, personal trainers, doctors and physiotherapists confirm the unique ergonomics and diversity of the EISENHORN. For me, sport and health is at least as important today as it was when I was fighting for podiums many years ago. The difference is, that today the joy in sports is the most important thing for me. And for sure, there is more joy if you’re feeling physically fit”.

"WORKOUT and enjoy sports".

MIKE SCHRAG, Inventor & Founder

"Liebe Leser, die Entstehung einer guten Sache, braucht Zeit.
Hinter der Marke EISENHORN steckt eine spannende Geschichte. Ich wünsche viel Spass beim Lesen".
Mike Schrag
Inventor & Founder

Winter 1987

Als zwölfjähriger Nachwuchsskirennfahrer merkte ich, dass ich etwas mehr Kraft und Muskelmasse aufbauen muss. Ich wusste, dass dies nur mit regelmäßigem Krafttraining erreichbar wäre. Kurzerhand baute ich mir aus Holzplatten und Stahlrohren mein eigenes Trainingsgerät und montierte dieses an einer Wand in meinem Kinderzimmer. So konnte ich fortan trainieren, wann immer ich Zeit und Lust dazu hatte.

1987 - 2010

Ich war schon damals ein Perfektionist und mit der Funktion meines ersten Geräts nicht zufrieden. Deshalb baute ich während über 20 Jahren ständig neue Geräte, skizzierte Ideen und verwarf sie wieder. Die Motivation war immer der Eigengebrauch. Im gleichen Zeitraum schloss ich meine Ausbildung zum Maschinenbau-Ingenieur ab und gründete 2006 meine eigene Firma für Produktdesign, Engineering und Prototypenbau.

WINTER 2010

Unser zweiter Sohn wächst heran. Auch er ist begeisterter Skifahrer und bestreitet erfolgreich seine ersten Rennen. Die Geschichte scheint sich knapp 30 Jahre später zu wiederholen. Es ist für mich die ultimative Motivation, mein Gerätekonzept noch einmal aufzugreifen. Diesmal will ich es professionell angehen. Meine Idee will ich jetzt in ein marktfähiges Produkt umsetzen.

Die folgenden für mich wichtigsten Eigenschaften habe ich damals in mein Lastenheft geschrieben.

Niemand konnte sich zu diesem Zeitpunkt vorstellen, wie das gehen soll:

Ganzkörpertraining

Gerät, das alle vom Fitnessstudio bekannten Übungsmöglichkeiten bietet.

Einfaches Handling

Einfaches und schnelles Handling, welches einen sekundenschnellen Wechsel von einer Übung zur anderen ermöglicht.

Minimaler Platzdedarf

Das Gerät soll nicht mehr Platz einnehmen als eine mittelgroße Zimmerpflanze.

Exklusives Design

Ein Design, welches es ermöglicht, das Gerät als dekoratives Element in der Wohnung zu montieren.

2010 - 2014

In vier Jahren baute ich weitere sieben Prototypen. Ich habe mein Konzept in tausenden von Stunden optimiert. Dank der Intuition und dem Streben nach der besten Kombination aus Funktion und Design entstand etwas Einzigartiges. Im März 2013 reichte ich ein erstes internationales Patent ein. Im Dezember 2014 folgte ein zweites Patent. Im selben Zeitraum gründete ich die Firma EISENHORN und verkaufte meine Produktdesign-Firma.

2015 - 2017

Die Firma EISENHORN verkauft im Jahr 2015 die ersten Geräte. Mit einer noch sehr bescheidenen Unternehmensstruktur wird bereits im ersten Jahr eine dreistellige Stückzahl erreicht. Im folgenden Jahr wurde der Umsatz verdoppelt. Im ersten Quartal 2017 werden 5 Mal mehr Geräte verkauft als im gleichen Quartal des Vorjahres.

2018

Ich bin immer noch ein (manchmal übertriebener) Perfektionist und damit wohl selber der anspruchsvollste Kunde gebliebenDas EISENHORN ist das Gerätwie ich es mir schon 1987 gewünscht hätteEs erfüllt mich mit Stolz, dass es mittlerweile von vielen Experten als revolutionäres Trainingsgerät bezeichnet wird. Viele Profisportler, Personal Trainer, Ärzte und Physiotherapeuten bestätigen uns die einzigartige Ergonomie und Vielfältigkeit vom EISENHORN. Für mich ist Sport und Gesundheit heute mindestens so wichtig wie damals, als ich noch um Podestplätze gekämpft habe. Der Unterschied ist, das jetzt der Spass im Vordergrund steht. Und Spass am Sport hat man definitiv mehr, wenn man sich körperlich fit fühlt”.

"WORKOUT and enjoy sports".

MIKE SCHRAG, Inventor & Founder